Monday, November 08, 2010


I did not know there was a crime fiction award named after Jack the Ripper, but there is!
The European Crime Fiction Award to recognize outstanding achievement in the filed of crime fiction is known as the Ripper Award. Any errors in this post are due to my non-existent German and Google translator 's interesting English. But this award is connected with the Murder on the Hellweg-Tatort Ruhr Festival in North Rhine Westphalia, and is given every two years.
A distinguished jury selects a shortlist and then there is online voting to select a winner.

In 2008 it was won by Henning Mankell and the other nominees were John Harvey, Val McDermid, Hakan Nesser and Maj Sjowall. On the jury were among others Liza Marklund and Peter James.

This year the 2010 nominees are:

Arne Dahl
Minette Walters
Hakan Nesser
Gianrico Carofiglio
Arnaldur Indridason

Among the distinguished jury were Louise Welsh and Domingo Villar.
Vote for your favourite here.
[Photograph of two time nominee Hakan Nesser [centre] with Cara Black and Leighton Gage.]


Blogger Jose Ignacio Escribano said...

Thanks for the information Norman, quite interesting.

11:52 AM  
Anonymous kathy d. said...

I've read the last three and I would be hard pressed to decide.

But I'd vote for Indridason, his whole body of work about the introspective, ruminating, but superbly competent Inspector Erlandur, and his social commentary.

8:45 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home